Best answer: What is meant by the original jurisdiction of Supreme Court of India?

Its exclusive original jurisdiction extends to any dispute between the Government of India and one or more States or between the Government of India and any State or States on one side and one or more States on the other or between two or more States, if and insofar as the dispute involves any question (whether of law …

What is meant by the original jurisdiction of the Supreme Court?

Original Jurisdiction: The Original Jurisdiction extends to those cases which Supreme Court has authority to hear and decide in the first instance. The Supreme Court has been given exclusive original jurisdiction in any dispute- (i) Between Govt. of India and one or more States; or. (ii) Between two or more states; or.

What is meant by original jurisdiction?

Definition. A court’s power to hear and decide a case before any appellate review. A trial court must necessarily have original jurisdiction over the types of cases it hears.

What is the original jurisdiction of the Supreme Court class 10?

Original jurisdiction of a court means that the court hears the case first as opposed to the appellate jurisdiction. It is the power to hear a case in the first place without going to any intermediary stage.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Which is a peninsula river of India?

What are the original and appellate jurisdictions of the Supreme Court?

The Constitution limits original jurisdiction cases to those involving disputes between the states or disputes arising among ambassadors and other high-ranking ministers. Appellate jurisdiction means that the Court has the authority to review the decisions of lower courts.

What are the 4 types of jurisdiction?

There are four main types of jurisdiction (arranged from greatest Air Force authority to least): (1) exclusive federal jurisdiction; (2) concurrent federal jurisdic- tion; (3) partial federal jurisdiction; and (4) proprietary jurisdiction. Depending on your installation, more than one type of jurisdiction may apply.

What are the three types of jurisdiction of Supreme Court?

The scope of powers of Supreme Court to hear and decide cases is called its jurisdiction. The Supreme Court has three types of jurisdictions namely original, appellate and advisory. Let us now examine the three jurisdictions. There are certain cases which fall within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Supreme Court.

What is original jurisdiction example?

“Original jurisdiction” means that the Supreme Court hears the case directly, without the case going through an intermediate stage. The original jurisdiction is set forth in the United States Code. … An example of such a case is the 1998 case of State of New Jersey v. State of New York.

What are the 3 types of jurisdiction?

There are three main types of judicial jurisdiction: personal, territorial and subject matter:

  • Personal jurisdiction is the authority over a person, regardless of their location.
  • Territorial jurisdiction is the authority confined to a bounded space, including all those present therein, and events which occur there.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Who were the second invaders of India?

What is the Article 124?

Constitution of India. Establishment and constitution of Supreme Court. (1) There shall be a Supreme Court of India consisting of a Chief Justice of India and, until Parliament by law prescribes a larger number, of not more than seven other Judges.

Chants of India