What are the three branches of Indian Government?

They are the Executive, (President and about 5,000,000 workers) Legislative (Senate and House of Representatives) and Judicial (Supreme Court and lower Courts).

What are the 3 branches of Indian government?

It is seated in New Delhi, the capital of India. The government comprises three branches: the executive, the legislative and the judiciary.

What are the three branches of government and their responsibilities in India?

Government Branches

Main Powers
Judicial Enforces fundamental rights; issues directions, orders, or writs; and may direct the transfer of any civil or criminal case.
Legislative Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are the main legislative bodies of government that are responsible for executing the legislative tasks of the government.

What are 3 branches of State government?

All State governments are modeled after the Federal Government and consist of three branches: executive, legislative, and judicial. The U.S. Constitution mandates that all States uphold a “republican form” of government, although the three-branch structure is not required.

Who is the leader in India?

What branch declares war?

The Constitution grants Congress the sole authority to enact legislation and declare war, the right to confirm or reject many Presidential appointments, and substantial investigative powers.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Is Hotstar down in India?

What is the Indian president’s job?

Duty. The primary duty of the president is to preserve, protect and defend the constitution and the law of India as made part of his oath (Article 60 of Indian constitution). The president is the common head of all independent constitutional entities.

Who is head of our country?

The current head of state of India is Ram Nath Kovind, elected in 2017 after being nominated by BJP, the party run by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

What branch is Supreme Court?


The Constitution states also, in its article 94 that, exercise of the Federal Judicial Power is vested on the Supreme Court of Justice of the Nation, the Elections Court., The Collegiate, Unitary and Circuit Courts and the District Courts.

What is the main job of Supreme Court?

As the final arbiter of the law, the Court is charged with ensuring the American people the promise of equal justice under law and, thereby, also functions as guardian and interpreter of the Constitution.

What does state mean in politics?

According to the Oxford English Dictionary, a state is “a. an organized political community under one government; a commonwealth; a nation. b. such a community forming part of a federal republic, esp the United States of America”.

Chants of India