Your question: Who won 2004 election in India?

Who was ruling India in 2004?

On 13 May the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the lead party of the National Democratic Alliance conceded defeat.

2004 Indian general election.

Leader Sonia Gandhi Atal Bihari Vajpayee
Alliance UPA NDA
Leader since 19 March 1998 16 May 1996
Leader’s seat Raebareli Lucknow

Who was BJP PM candidate in 2009?

16 April 2009 – 13 May 2009

Leader Manmohan Singh Lal Krishna Advani
Alliance UPA NDA
Leader since 22 May 2004 1 June 2004
Leader’s seat Assam (Rajya Sabha) Gandhinagar

Who was the 14 Lok Sabha prime minister?

The 14th Lok Sabha (17 May 2004 – 18 May 2009) was convened after the 2004 Indian general election held in four phases during 20 April – 10 May 2004, which led to the formation of first Manmohan Singh ministry (2004–2009).

Who won 2 seats for BJP in 1984?

Voting was held immediately after the assassination of Indira Gandhi and the 1984 anti-Sikh riots in November and most of India supported Congress. The Bharatiya Janata Party won its first two seats, in Hanamkonda and Mahesana.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: How can I ship internationally from India to USA?

Who won the election in 2004?

2004 United States presidential election

Nominee George W. Bush John Kerry
Party Republican Democratic
Home state Texas Massachusetts
Running mate Dick Cheney John Edwards
Electoral vote 286 251

How many seats did BJP won in 1999?

1999 Indian general election

Alliance NDA INC+
Leader since 16 May 1996 19 March 1998
Leader’s seat Lucknow Amethi
Seats won 182 114

How many seats did BJP win in 2014?

Results by party

Party Votes Seats
Bharatiya Janata Party 171,660,230 282
Indian National Congress 106,935,942 44
Bahujan Samaj Party 22,946,346
All India Trinamool Congress 21,262,665 34

Who was ruling India in 2010?

The Janata Dal (United) was the largest party in the assembly after the 2005 election, and co-ruled with the Bharatiya Janata Party as part of the National Democratic Alliance. The incumbent chief minister was Nitish Kumar.

How many seats did BJP won in 1998?

1998 Indian general election

Leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee Sitaram Kesri
Leader’s seat Lucknow Bihar (Rajya Sabha)
Seats won 182 141
Seat change 21 1

Who is good Prime Minister of India?

Shri Narendra Modi was sworn-in as India’s Prime Minister on 30th May 2019, marking the start of his second term in office. The first ever Prime Minister to be born after Independence, Shri Modi has previously served as the Prime Minister of India from 2014 to 2019.

Who is the longest Prime Minister of India?


No. Name Length of term
Longest continuous term
1 Jawaharlal Nehru 16 years, 286 days
2 Indira Gandhi 11 years, 59 days
3 Manmohan Singh 10 years, 4 days
IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the root cause of India's great slowdown?
Chants of India