What was the government of India in 1999?

On 17 April 1999, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) coalition government led by prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee failed to win a confidence vote in the Lok Sabha (India’s lower house) by a single vote due to the withdrawal of one of the government’s coalition partners – the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam ( …

Who ruled India in 1998?

1998 Indian general election

Leader Atal Bihari Vajpayee Sitaram Kesri
Leader’s seat Lucknow Bihar (Rajya Sabha)
Seats won 182 141
Seat change 21 1

Who was GOVT India in 1990?

National Front (NF) was a coalition of political parties, led by the Janata Dal, which formed India’s government between 1989 and 1990 under the leadership of N. T. Rama Rao, popularly known as NTR, as President of national front and V. P. Singh as Convener.

What happened India 1999?

The Kargil War, also known as the Kargil conflict, was an armed conflict fought between India and Pakistan from May to July 1999 in the Kargil district of Kashmir and elsewhere along the Line of Control (LoC). In India, the conflict is also referred to as Operation Vijay (Hindi: विजय, lit.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is Roposo Indian app?

What was the government of India in 1991?

P V Narasimha Rao of Indian National Congress became the Prime Minister of India from 21 June 1991 till 16 May 1996, after INC won 244 seats, 47 more than previous 9th Lok Sabha.

How many seats did BJP won in 1999?

1999 Indian general election

Alliance NDA INC+
Leader since 16 May 1996 19 March 1998
Leader’s seat Lucknow Amethi
Seats won 182 114

Who died in India 1998?


  • 15 January – Gulzarilal Nanda, Interim Prime Minister of India, Politician (b. …
  • 23 February – Raman Lamba, Indian cricketer (b. …
  • 19 May – Leela Devi, writer, translator and teacher (b. …
  • 4 June – Aarudhra, author, poet and historian (b. …
  • 18 August – Persis Khambatta, actress and model (b.

Who was the CM of Kashmir in 1990?

Colour key for parties

Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir
No. Name Tenure
Vacant (President’s rule) 19 July 1990
(7) Farooq Abdullah 9 October 1996
Vacant (Governor’s rule) 18 October 2002

How many seats did BJP won in 1989?

1989 Indian general election

Leader Rajiv Gandhi L. K. Advani
Leader’s seat Amethi New Delhi
Seats won 197 85
Seat change 217 83

Who was PM in Jan 1990?

Vishwanath Pratap Singh (Hindi pronunciation: [vishvanaath prataap sinh]) (25 June 1931 – 27 November 2008), also known as V. P. Singh, was an Indian politician who was the 7th Prime Minister of India from 1989 to 1990 and the 41st Raja Bahadur of Manda. He is India’s only prime minister to have been a former ruler.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Which Hindi news channel is best in India?

What was in 1999?

The Year 1999 From The People History

  • What Events Happened in 1999.
  • United States — Hurricane Floyd. Hurricane Floyd a Category 4 storm with winds in excess of 140 mph strikes North Carolina. …
  • United States — Columbine High School massacre. …
  • Europe — Euro Currency Created.

What event happened to India in 1999 and its impact?

The 1999 Odisha cyclone, also known as Cyclone 05B, and Paradip cyclone, was the deadliest tropical cyclone in the Indian Ocean since the 1991 Bangladesh cyclone, and deadliest Indian storm since 1971. It struck the coast of Odisha with an height of in 1999 was 26 feet (8 meters).

Chants of India