What happened in the election in India in 2019?

Who won election in India 2019?

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA won the elections with the BJP itself winning a clear majority. The BJP become the single largest party in the House and surpassed expectations to win 303 seats, with its alliance partners bringing the NDA to a total of 353 seats.

What happens in elections in India?

Members of Lok Sabha (House of the People) or the lower house of India’s Parliament are elected by being voted upon by all adult citizens of India, from a set of candidates who stand in their respective constituencies. … Elections take place once in 5 years to elect 545 members for the Lok Sabha (Lower house).

How did India vote in 2019?

General elections were held in India in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May 2019 to elect the members of the 17th Lok Sabha. Votes were counted and the result declared on 23 May. … The BJP won 37.46% of votes, while the NDA’s combined vote was 45% of the 603.7 million votes that were polled.

Who won the election 2019?

The Liberal Party won back Wentworth (NSW) from Independent Kerryn Phelps, who had won the seat in October 2018 at a by-election. The Liberals also won Lindsay (NSW), Braddon (Tas.) and Bass (Tas.) from Labor.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Question: Who introduced Demonetisation in India?

How many states BJP is ruling?

State Legislative Assemblies

S.No. State / Union Territory Ruling Party / Ruling Alliance
27 Telangana TRS
28 Tripura BJP+IPFT
29 Uttar Pradesh BJP
30 Uttarakhand BJP

What is the age of voting in India?

The Sixty-first Amendment of the Constitution of India, officially known as The Constitution (Sixty-first Amendment) Act, 1988, lowered the voting age of elections to the Lok Sabha and to the Legislative Assemblies of States from 21 years to 18 years.

Who is the president of India?

How is Indian president elected?

President. The President is elected by members of an electoral college consisting of elected members of both Houses of Parliament and Legislative Assemblies of the states in accordance with the system of proportional representation, by means of single transferable vote.

How many seats did BJP win in 2014?

Results by party

Party Votes Seats
Bharatiya Janata Party 171,660,230 282
Indian National Congress 106,935,942 44
Bahujan Samaj Party 22,946,346
All India Trinamool Congress 21,262,665 34

Which is the largest electorate in the world?

At 1,629,858 km2 (64 per cent of the landmass of Western Australia), Durack is the largest electorate in Australia by land area, the largest constituency in the world that practices compulsory voting, and the third largest single-member electorate in the world after Nunavut in Canada and Alaska in the United States.

How many seats are needed for a majority government in India?

For a political party to form the government, they must have a majority of elected MPs. Since there are 543 elected (plus 2 Anglo-Indian nominated) members in Lok Sabha, to have a majority a party should have at least half the number i.e. 272 members or more.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: What type of boundary separates China and India?
Chants of India